Recounts in 6 electoral districts

In accordance with Election Rule 101(1) of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 2:01, the Elections and Boundaries Commission has received official notification, of requests for general recounts in five electoral districts and a limited recount on one electoral district.

The five electoral districts, in which general recounts have been requested are:

  • Marabella West;
  • Cocoyea/Toruba;
  • Valencia West;
  • Mayaro/Guayaguayare; and
  • Auzonville/Tunapuna

In the electoral district of La Romaine, the recount, will be limited to five of the thirteen polling stations. These recounts will commence at 3:00p.m. at the offices of the respective Returning Officers.

Election Rule 101(1) provides for candidates or their election agents, to request a final count from the Returning Officer in the electoral district in which the candidate contested the election. The request must be made at the Office of the respective Returning Officer no later than 12 noon on the day, following the close of the polls.

For more information, contact the Corporate Communications Unit at 625-5924.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8