Prime Minister co-chairs US/Caribbean Energy Security Action Committee

Prime Minister Dr the Hon Keith Rowley co-chaired the first meeting of the US/Caribbean Energy Security Action Committee today (Tuesday 12 July, 2022).

The Committee was established following the high-level meeting between CARICOM/CARIFORUM leaders, US President Joseph Biden and Vice-President, Kamala Harris in June at the IX Summit of the Americas in Los Angeles, California.

The Prime Minister will lead efforts to develop a joint action plan to address identified energy security issues impacting the Caribbean. The US has indicated that it is committed to working with the region to confront these challenges and towards creating a work programme aimed at sustainable energy security.

Dr Rowley was nominated by fellow regional heads as co-chair of the Committee. Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, the Hon Stuart Young also participated in today’s meeting and will continue to assist in the Committee’s ongoing work.

Amos Hochstein, State Department Senior Advisor for Energy Security is the designated US lead on the Committee.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.