National Committee on Reparations receive Instruments of Appointment

Caption: Members of the Trinidad and Tobago National Committee on Reparations pictured with their instruments of appointment. (Standing from L-R), Mr Anthony Birchwood; Der One Piankhi; Clyde Noel; Khafra Kambon; Andy Johnson; Theresa Neblett-Skinner; Chief Ricardo Bharath-Hernandez; Avril Belfon. (Seated from L-R) His Excellency Sir Edwin Carrington; Dr Verene Shepherd; Mr Aiyegoro Ome and His Excellency Ambassador Mervyn Assam. (File Photo)
August 12, 2014:
Members of a Cabinet appointed National Committee on Reparations, received their instruments of appointment today, from His Excellency Mervyn Assam, Ambassador Extraordinaire and Plenipotentiary, in the Ministry of foreign Affairs. Ambassador Assam was standing in for Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran, who was scheduled to deliver the instruments, but whose schedule had been altered because of the late sitting of the4 House of Representatives on Monday.
The Cabinet appointed Committee was established, in accordance with a decision taken, at the 34th Regular Meeting of Caricom Heads of Government, held in Port of Spain in July 2013. All Caricom member states agreed to the establishment of such national Committees, as feeder organizations into a Caricom Regional Commission on Reparations,. It is a mechanism established to formulate and to press the case for Reparations across the Caribbean, in relation to the effects of what is decided as “Native Genocide against indigenous inhabitants, slavery and the slave trade against Africans, as well as the Colonisation of countries in the region.  
Chairman of the Trinidad and Tobago National Committee is Aiyegoro Ome, who is also Chairman of the National Joint Action Committee. Other members are His Excellency Sir Edwin Carrington, Trinidad and Tobago Ambassador to Caricom; Ms Avril Belfon, National Archivist, National Archives of Trinidad and Tobago; Mrs Theresa Neblett-Skinner of the Curriculum Development Division, Ministry of Education; Ms Lucia Phillip, National Library and Information System Authority (NALIS); Dr Sharon Legall, Attorney, Consultant Lecturer, Faculty of Law, UWI, St Augustine; Mr Anthony Birchwood, Department of Economics, UWI, St Augustine; Mr Andy Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, Government Information Services Limited;  Mr Khafra Kambon, Chairman, Emancipation Support Committee Chief Ricardo Bharath Hernandez, of the Santa Rosa First People’s Community; Der One Piankhi, of The Council of Orisha Elders of Trinidad and Tobago and Mr Clyde Noel of the All Mansions of Rastafari, Trinidad and Tobago.
The Committee also has representatives from the Office of the Prime Minister, the Ministry of the Attorney General, the Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism and the University of Trinidad and Tobago. At the ceremony, held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, members were addressed by Dr Verene Shepherd, historian and Chair of the Jamaica National Committee, as well as Co-Chair of the Caricom Regional Commission.  She was in Trinidad and Tobago as a guest of the NJAC, for its 35th annual Emancipation celebrations.
For further information, please contact:
Communications Support Officer
Trinidad and Tobago National Committee on Reparations
Tel: 868-623-6894
Trinidad and Tobago National Committee on Reparations
Dr. Verene Shepherd
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Winston Dookeran
His Excellency Mervyn Assam
Ambassador Extraordinaire and Plenipotentiary
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8