Minister Kazim Hosein calls on all DMUs to be on alert

(Photo courtesy: The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government - Facebook)

As many parts of the country continue to experience inclement weather today resulting in flash and riverine flooding, Minister of Rural Development and Local Government Haji Kazim Hosein has called on all fourteen (14) Mayors and Chairmen to ensure that their Disaster Management Units are on alert and on the ground to assist affected persons.

Disaster Management Units in affected areas are currently mobilised and in the field to collect reports and support in initial damage assessments, while the rest are on standby and monitoring. All fourteen (14) Units are in a state of readiness to respond to the concerns of the public. Each Municipality is following an all-of-Corporation approach to ensure that those affected receive assistance in the shortest time possible.

At this stage, reports of flash and street flooding have been received from Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo, Diego Martin, San Juan/Laventille, Port of Spain and San Fernando. The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management has issued an advisory asking citizens in affected areas, especially in Port of Spain, to delay travel by one to two hours to reduce traffic congestion and personal risk.

Citizens are reminded to proceed with caution when traversing the roadways, and seek alternate routes if there are reports of flooding. Do not walk through flood waters or allow children or pets to play in flooded areas as hidden debris may cause injuries. Take the necessary measures to safeguard health and property. Should you require emergency assistance, contact the 24-hour Disaster Management Hotline for your respective Municipal Corporation.

Kindly note that the Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service advises that Trinidad and Tobago is not currently under any Tropical Storm or Hurricane threat, watch or warning.

Disaster Management Hotline numbers are as follows: 



Diego Martin Regional Corporation

800-DMRC (3672)

San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation

800-SLRC (7572)

Arima Borough Corporation

800-2ABC (2222)

Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation

800-TPRC (8272)

Port-of-Spain City Corporation

800-PSCC (7722)

Sangre Grande Regional Corporation

800-SGRC (7472)

Chaguanas Borough Corporation

800-DCBC (3222)

Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation

800-CTTC (2882)

Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation

800-4MRC (4672)

Princes Town Regional Corporation

800-PTRC (7872)

Point Fortin Borough Corporation

800-PFBC (7322)

San Fernando City Corporation

800-SCDU (7238)

Penal/Debe Regional Corporation

800-PDRC (7372)

Siparia Regional Corporation

800-4SRC (4772)

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.