Mercy Committee considers applications for Presidential Pardon

Minister of National Security the Honourable Stuart R. Young M.P. on Wednesday (July 17, 2019) chaired a meeting of the Advisory Committee on the Power of Pardon (Mercy Committee).

The Mercy Committee met to consider applications submitted by prisoners and non-prisoners who have been convicted of an offence and wish to obtain a Presidential Pardon. The Mercy Committee continues to fulfill its constitutional mandate.

The Committee, established under Section 87 of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, gives consideration to each individual application on a case by case basis with a view to determining whether the applicant is a suitable candidate for the grant of a Presidential Pardon.

The Committee is chaired by the Minister of National Security and its membership includes the Attorney General, the Director of Public Prosecutions and four other members of varied expertise.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.