Living legends honoured at Tobago Day Awards

Caption: Veteran Calypsonian, McArtha 'Calypso Rose' Sandy-Lewis (c) poses for a photo with THA Chief Secretary, Orville London (right) and his wife, Mrs. Brigid London. Calypso Rose was one of three recipients of the Tobago Medal of Honour, Gold at the Tobago Day Awards held on December 4. (Photo courtesy the Tobago House of Assembly)

December 7, 2016: Their contributions to the calypso art-form over several decades have made them cultural icons. On Sunday night (December 4, 2016), at the Shaw Park Complex, Winston Bailey, the “Mighty Shadow”, and McArtha Sandy- Lewis, “Calypso Rose”, were celebrated for their lifetime achievements, being conferred with the Tobago Medal of Honour, Gold.

A third Medal of Honour, gold, was presented to Neil Wilson. He was recognised for his decades of sterling contributions to business in Tobago.

Paralympics javelin gold medallist and world record holder Akeem Stewart was also honoured for his successes in sport in recent years. He received the Tobago Medal of Honour, silver. Cynthia Lyons-Duke and Carol Alfred also got silver for their contributions to the public service.

One Medal of Honour, bronze, was awarded posthumously to Boyceson “Jackie” Johnson for his service in music.

Another musician, Justin Peterkin, picked up two awards. He received the Calypso Rose Award for the Performing Arts and the Chief Secretary’s Award for outstanding contribution and significant achievement
in music and academics in 2016.

Cheva Alexander received the final award, the Shadow Award for Oral Tradition, at the event.


A group shot of the awardees and THA representatives. From left are Neil Wilson, Calypso Rose, Carlos Peterkin (father of awardee Justin Peterkin), Akeem Stewart, Cynthia Lyons-Duke, Cynthia Johnson (receiving posthumous award for Boyceson "Jackie" Johnson), Carol Alfred, Chief Secretary Orville London and his wife Brigid London, Chief Administrator Raye Sandy, Cheva Alexander and Winston "Shadow" Bailey.




The Department of Information

Office of the Chief Secretary

Tobago House of Assembly

868-639-3421 ext. 5019

Tobago Day Awards
Tobago House of Assembly
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8