Industrial Relations Advisory Committee appointed

Senator the Honourable Jennifer Baptiste Primus, Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development distributed instruments of appointment to Members of the Industrial Relations Advisory Committee (IRAC) at the Ministry’s Head Office on Thursday 5th September, 2019.

This Committee is appointed by the President and is established in accordance with the Industrial Relations Act, Chapter 88:01, Section 81. Under this Act, the role of the Committee is as follows: “It shall be the duty of the Advisory Committee to keep this Act under review with a view to ensuring its development and reform, including in particular the modification of any of the provisions thereof and the elimination of anomalies, and for that purpose to prepare and submit to the Minister, from time to time, specific proposals for changes therein.”  

Minister Baptiste-Primus expressed her gratitude for and confidence in the Committee Members who come from diverse backgrounds with divergent experiences. This variance she added gives her a sense of hope and pride for the anticipated outputs from the Committee as they continue to examine and provide recommendations to ensure that the Industrial Relations Act of 1972 keeps up with emerging labour trends.

Minister Baptiste-Primus paid special commendation to the re-appointed Chairperson of the Committee, Dr. Hyacinth Guy for taking up the mantle to serve once again.

The Ministry remains committed by these Appointments, to work steadfastly to fulfil its mandate of promoting Decent Work, Industrial Peace and Equal Opportunities for All in Trinidad and Tobago.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.