Distribution of instruments of appointment for ACTT Council

Members of the newly appointed Council of the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) received their instruments of appointment from the Honourable Anthony Garcia, Minister of Education at a ceremony held at the Ministry of Education’s Head Office on Wednesday 20th November, 2019.

The ACTT is a corporate body, responsible for conducting and advising on the accreditation and recognition of post-secondary and tertiary educational and training institutions, programmes and awards, whether local or foreign and for the promotion of the quality and standards of post-secondary and tertiary training in Trinidad and Tobago. The Members of the Council are appointed by the  President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

In his address to the newly appointed Board, Minister Garcia thanked the new Members for accepting the appointment and for ensuring that beneficiaries of tertiary education excel in the fields of their choice.

Minister Garcia said, “The Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago is of extreme importance to us in the education system, especially since we have had some adjustments to GATE because a number of providers before had not been accredited and that has caused some concern. However, I’m happy to note that you have been doing an excellent job and you continue to do that.”

Meanwhile, newly appointed Chairperson, Dr. June George thanked the Ministry of Education and by extension the Government of Trinidad and Tobago and noted, that the very important work done by the Accreditation Council needs to be continued. She also promised that the board is ready to give their best and work together with all the stakeholders with the goal of ensuring the conservation of the Tertiary Education sector.

The Council will serve for a period of three (3) years up to 2022.

 The following is a list of the newly appointed Board Members:





Dr. June George


Dr. Ruby Alleyne

Deputy Chairman

Mrs. Denise Dennis-Horsford

Board Member

Mrs Wafaa Mohammed-Ghany

Board Member

Dr. Alvin Archibald Ashton

Board Member

Dr. Archibald Prime

Board Member

Mrs. Shalene Suchit-Dwarika

Board Member

Mrs. Pramatee Gajadhar

Board Member

 For more information please contact the Corporate Communications Division at 622-2181.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.