

# TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO GAZETTE (EXTRAORDINARY)

Vol. 54

Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, Tuesday 24th March, 2015-Price \$1.00

No. 30

403

### INTEGRITY COMMISSION TRIBUNAL

### **REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO**

By His Excellency ANTHONY THOMAS AQUINAS CARMONA, O.R.T.T., S.C., President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

PRESIDENT:

Greetings:

To: Mr. Justice Sebastian Ventour (Retired)

Dr. Shelly-Anne Lalchan

Mr. Deonarine Jaggernauth

Mr. Pete London.

WHEREAS by section 15 of the Integrity in Public Life Act, Chapter 22:01 (hereinafter referred to as "the Act") it is provided that where upon the examination referred to in section 13 of the Act, the Integrity Commission of Trinidad and Tobago (hereinafter referred to as "the Integrity Commission") is of the opinion that it should enquire further into any declaration so as to ascertain whether there has been a full disclosure, it may advise the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago to appoint a tribunal of two or more of its members to conduct an enquiry to verify the contents of the declaration or the statement filed with the Integrity Commission;

403—Continued

#### INTEGRITY COMMISSION TRIBUNAL—CONTINUED

**AND WHEREAS** upon an examination of the declarations filed by Mr. Austin Jack Warner MP with the Integrity Commission for the years ended  $31^{st}$  December 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 ("the Declarations") pursuant to section 13 of the Act, the Integrity Commission is of the opinion that it should enquire further into the Declarations so as to ascertain whether there has been full disclosure;

**AND WHEREAS** the Integrity Commission has advised the President to appoint a tribunal of two or more of its members to conduct an enquiry to verify the contents of the Declarations filed with the Integrity Commission;

**AND WHEREAS** the President on the advice of the Integrity Commission has deemed it advisable that four members of the Integrity Commission be appointed to conduct an enquiry to verify the contents of the declarations of income, assets and liabilities and statements of registrable interests of Mr. Austin Jack Warner MP filed with the Integrity Commission for the years ended 31<sup>st</sup> December 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011, and for this purpose to appoint an Integrity Commission Tribunal (hereinafter referred to as "the Tribunal") pursuant to the Act with the following terms of reference:

- (1) To conduct an enquiry to verify the contents of the declarations of income, assets and liabilities and statements of registrable interests of Mr. Austin Jack Warner MP, filed with the Integrity Commission for the years ended 31<sup>st</sup> December 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011.
- (2) To make such findings and recommendations arising out of the enquiry as may be deemed appropriate consistent with the provisions of sections 17, 18 or 19 of the Act.

**AND WHEREAS** the Tribunal shall conduct the said enquiry under section 15 of the Act in accordance with the provisions of the Act and shall have and exercise the powers of a Commission of Enquiry under the Commission of Enquiry Act, Chapter 19:01, save that its proceedings shall be held **in private** in accordance with section 16 (2) of the Act;

**NOW THERFEORE, I, ANTHONY THOMAS AQUINAS CARMONA, O.R.T.T., S.C.,** President as aforesaid, in the exercise of the power vested in me by section 15 of the Act do hereby issue this Tribunal appointing Mr.Justice Sebastian Ventour (Retired), Dr. Shelly-Anne Lalchan, Mr. Deonarine Jaggernauth and Mr. Pete London as Members of the Tribunal to conduct the enquiry into the matters and in the manner aforesaid; 403—Continued

#### INTEGRITY COMMISSION TRIBUNAL—CONTINUED

**AND I DIRECT** that you, Mr. Justice Sebastian Ventour (Retired), shall be the Chairman of the Tribunal;

**AND I FURTHER DIRECT** that you, Mr. Justice Sebastian Ventour (Retired), Dr. Shelly-Anne Lalchan, Mr. Deonarine Jaggernauth and Mr. Pete London, forthwith proceed at such places and times as may be convenient with due diligence and dispatch to enquire into the matters aforesaid and to conclude the said enquiry within a period of nine (9) months of the first sitting of the Tribunal and to make such findings and recommendations arising out of the enquiry as may be deemed appropriate consistent with the provisions of sections 17, 18 or 19 of the Act;

# AND I FURTHER DIRECT that the said enquiry shall be held in private in accordance with section 16 (2) of the Act;

**AND I FURTHER DIRECT** the Commissioner of Police to detail police officers to attend upon the Members of the Tribunal to keep them safe and to preserve order during the proceedings of the Tribunal if and when required, to serve summonses on witnesses and to perform such duties as the Tribunal shall direct;

**AND I CHARGE AND COMMAND** all public officers and all loyal citizens of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in their several places and according to their several powers and abilities that they be abiding and assist you the Members of the Tribunal without fear in the execution of this your Tribunal;

AND this Tribunal shall be continued in the manner aforesaid subject to any alteration or revocation thereof until you have finally concluded the said enquiry and made such findings and recommendations arising out of the enquiry as may be deemed appropriate consistent with the provisions of the Act.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago at the Office of the President, St. Ann's, this 17th day of March 2015





## LAW ASSOCIATION OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Telephone: 625-9350/225-8715-7

2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, 95-97 Frederick Street, Port-of-Spain Email: tt<u>lawassociation@gmail.com</u>

Website: http://www.lawassociationtt.com

## COUNCIL FOR THE TERM 2015/2016

The following are the names of the OFFICERS AND ORDINARY MEMBERS who shall form the  $29^{th}$  Council of the Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago for the term 2015/2016.

Reginald T.A. Armour SC

President

Gerry Brooks

Lydia Mendonça

Treasurer

Vice-President

### SENIOR ORDINARY MEMBERS

Joan Byrne Hyacinth Griffith Natasha Lamy-Ramsden Elena Araujo Lynette Seebaran-Suite Ronnie Bissessar Soraya Nanan Lesley-Ann Lucky-Samaroo Ravi Rajcoomar Nadine Nabie

### JUNIOR ORDINARY MEMBERS

Shankar Bidaisee Cindy Felicia Daniel Robert Vincent Charles

By Order of the Council Dated this 25<sup>th</sup> day of March, 2015 Trevor Clarke Kirk Bengochea